21.—Legislatures of Ontario, 1934-60, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 79, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 114.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1943 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951 June 9, 1955 June 11, 1959	19th	3 8 2 4 4 5 5	Feb. 20, 1935 Dec. 1, 1937 Feb. 22, 1944 July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952 Sept. 8, 1955 Jan. 26, 1960	Apr. 9, 1936 June 30, 1943 Mar. 24, 1945 Apr. 27, 1948 Oct. 6, 1951 May 2, 1955 May 4, 1959

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1963.

22.—Seventeenth Ministry of Ontario, as at Apr. 30, 1963

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1959: 71 Progressive Conservative, 22 Liberal and 5 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Council. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Public Welfare. Treasurer. Minister of Travel and Publicity. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Health. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Attorney General and Minister in charge of the Department of Insurance. Provincial Secretary and Minister of Citizenship. Minister of Energy Resources and Minister of Economics and Development.	Hon. Louis P. Cecile	Jan. 5, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Nov. 1, 1956 July 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 Apr. 28, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958	Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Aug. 17, 1955 Apr. 28, 1958 Aug. 17, 1955 Dec. 22, 1958 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962 May 26, 1960 May 5, 1959
Minister of Mines. Minister of Labour. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Highways. Minister of Reform Institutions. Minister of Transport. Minister of Education. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Robert W. Macaulay Hon. George C. Wardrope Hon. H. Leslie Rowntree Hon. Allan Grossman Hon. William A. Stewart Hon. Charles S. MacNaughton Hon. Irwin Haskett Hon. James A. C. Auld Hon. William G. Davis Hon. John R. Simonett	Dec. 22, 1958 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962	Jan. 15, 1962 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962

Subsection 7.—Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council at present composed of 11 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. The Hon. Errick F. Willis, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was sworn in on Jan. 15, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1870) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 113. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 114.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$10,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$2,667 and an expense allowance of \$1,333. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$3,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives an amount double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.